Contact: /

Tommigun – Wooden Son


9000 records is stoked to announce the release of Tommigun’s third album “Wooden Son”, that marks a shift in the band’s sound. Tommigun’s new album has taken a darker turn. Adventurous, ominous and brooding are just some keywords to characterise the album.


Tommigun door Leon De Backer

While their first two albums felt like an emotional confrontation between the two lead singers: Kaat and Thomas, the new songs are inspired by the record collection of prison work songs, chants and blues music, Thomas grew up with.
Mixing these influences with their own sound results in chants where the whole band is singing at the top of their lungs on a layer of heavy bass, eerie keyboards and temperamental drumming.
Dark and almost oppressive atmospheres are seamlessly blended with beautiful harmonies and catchy melodies.
“Wooden Son” shows off a band on a new creative high.

Tommigun might be initiated by Brussels’ based Thomas Devos, The ties with Ghent are strong. Not only is band member Pim De Wolf (als known from Thou and Helsinki) a well-known musician and sound-engineer in the Ghent music scène, the album has also been produced and recorded by Ghent’s very own producing Guru Koen Gisen.

We welcome you all to take part in an utterly fascinating journey come September 23rd, 2016.

Artwork: taken from stills from the documentary
Design by Jan Missotten
Band Picture: Leon De Backer

Track Listing:

1. Chant
2. Turn Over
3. Whowho
4. Wooden Son
5. Send me
6. Big Wave
7. Slagstamp
8. Canyons
9. Lady Low
10. Up North
11. Nice Enough

Band members:

Kaat Arnaert (vocals), Pim De Wolf (bass, vocals), Mattijs Vanderleen (drums, beats, percussion and vocals), Joeri Cnapelinckx (keyboards, vocals), Thomas Devos (guitar, vocals)

Management & Agent – Wolx –